Movie Thoughts: City of Bones

[WARNING – There are spoilers if you have not yet read the book.]

If you are an avid YA book reader, I’m sure you have heard of The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. If not, then I do not consider you an avid YA book reader. Still, I’m sure you’ve heard that The City of Bones was just released in movie form on Wednesday. (And yes, City of Bones is originally a book.)

I became a fan of the series back in 2008, back when I was an 8th grader. Five years later, I’m heading into college and this novel is finally a movie. My first reaction: YEAHHH; my second reaction: I really hope they don’t screw it up.

Well, I went to see City of Bones Wednesday night with two of my friends – one of which happens to love that series to death, and the other one who enjoys it, but not as much as I do. Three different girls – who like the series on different levels – all went to see the movie, and had similar reactions.

Here are my thoughts:

On the Actors:

Honestly, I wasn’t too sure about Jamie Campbell Bower as Jace. I never pictured him as Jace; I still didn’t see him as Jace walking into that movie theater. But, I’m glad to say that I thought wrong. Not only does his voice scream JACEWAYLAND to me, the way he moves is pretty Jace-ish (he has the Jace swagger).

To continue, I love Lily Collins as Clary. Lily is absolutely gorgeous, and even though she is older, I think she can play the part of a 17 year old well. I was very happy with her performance as Clary.

I also think the actors for Simon and Isabelle portrayed the characters well. The one character that I couldn’t get intp was Alec, played by Kevin Zegers. Alec is supposed to be 18, and I just think Kevin Zegers looks way too old to play Alec…

On the book-to-movie adaptation:

I haven’t read the book in a while, therefore I wasn’t too critical about the way the movie turned out. The movie includes important scenes and memorable quotes from the book, which I was very happy about. But the way the scenes appear in the movie are not in the order that they appear in the book.

There are many parts of the storyline that are changed to fit the ‘movie appeal.’ Some of the changes annoyed me, and some of them didn’t. For example, the whole plot twist of the book (when Jace and Clary find out that they are supposedly siblings) is introduced in a way that is creative for a movie, but nowhere near how it is done the book. Also, some of the movie has awkward pacing and flow. There’s a scene in the movie where Clary goes to see Magnus Bane for information, and it is paced really weirdly and rushed.

The way Valentine looks also really bothered my friends and I. Yes, he’s attractive, but he has the sleezybadguy look going on. They give him braids and dark hair…just no. (Valentine is supposed to have white-blonde hair, by the way.) We all agree that Valentine was given the typical villain look, and the fact that they did that is disappointing, since he isn’t supposed to physically appear that way.

Also, I think the action scenes are done well. They’re exciting and really bring all of the detail from the book to life.

And the CGI for the demons are also pretty scary. They freaked me out! Which is good, since they’re supposed to do that.

Other comments:

What really confused me is the accents that some of the characters have. When is Jace supposed to have an accent? Or Isabelle, or Jocelyn? And why does Isabelle have an accent, when her brother Alec, does not? It wasn’t a major concern for me while watching the movie; I’m just curious to know why the directors decided on accents.

In the end…

I thought the movie was decent. No, it does not match up with the book 100%. And yes, I still think the book is a lot better. But would I go see it again? Yeah. I think it’s worth seeing if you’re a fan of the books. If you haven’t yet read the books, I think watching this movie is going to be really confusing, but enticing since it leaves you on a cliff hanger.

Last but not least, THE GREEN HOUSE SCENE. IT WAS AMAZING. And Jace & Clary’s kiss? Absolutely perfect.

Have you guys seen City of Bones? Thoughts?

3 thoughts on “Movie Thoughts: City of Bones

  1. I TOTALLY agree with you! I watched the movie the day it was released, and I absolutely loved it. It’s been ages since I’ve read the book, but I am so glad they stayed true to the book- for most of the part. 🙂 And same here on the cast- JCB doesn’t look like Jace in my head, but he certainly acts like him! And Magnus was just perfect! 🙂 But Kevin Zegers though- yeah, he was not Alec. :/

    The movie was so funny too! 🙂 It was mostly because of Jace. XD He was just so sarcastic and I’m happy some of the lines from the book were followed. AND YESSS THE GREENHOUSE SCENE WAS PERFECTION! ❤ The garden was unbelievably beautiful and with all the lights and the little trick Jace did with the stairs… just wow. I was grinning like crazy when it happened! 🙂

  2. Just on the accents – they all should have had one, except maybe Jocelyn, because they’re from Isis (I think that’s the name, I can’t really remember) and in the book somewhere they say they have weird accents. Or maybe it’s in City of Glass. But anyway, I’m glad to hear that the movie was good! I have to go see it!

    • Oh man, I forgot about that! Whoops, now this post is awkward. You’re right – but I’m still confused because Alec doesn’t have an accent…? Oh well. Thank you for reminding me!

      And yes, go find time to see it! It’s worth it (:

Leave a Reply

