Blog Tour: Ambril’s Tale, The Return of the Dullaith by Wendy D. Walter (Includes Q&A and Giveaway)

Hey guys. Welcome to the blog tour of I would  a recent e-book, The Return of the Dullaith by Wendy D. Walter! *exchanges “hellos”* Now that you guys have met, let me tell you all about this book!

Ambril's Tale-Tales of the Dullaith by Wendy D. Walter 2

Summary:

Fourteen-year-old, Ambril struggles with the mystery surrounding her father’s death when she moves back to the mysterious town where she was born. When she accidentally uncovers a secret which threatens to destroy her entire family, she continues her quest, against all odds, to clear her father’s name. But will she be able to claim her magic and and heal the rifts in her family?

Ambril’s Tale, The Return of the Dullaith has received great 4-5-star reviews. Readers are impatiently demanding Book Two, which will be out early Spring 2013.

Sounds pretty cool, right? You know what’s even cooler? Each chapter begins with a beautiful illustration from the author herself above each chapter title. For example, this picture is above chapter one:

72_chapt01_ledrith-glain-370x248

I was lucky enough to be able to ask Wendy some questions about her book.

About The Author: Wendy D. Walter

Writing was an early passion for Wendy. As a kid, she wrote lots of stories, but being shy, they usually ended up under the mattress. When she finally set out to tell Ambril’s Tale, she decided not to write a story but a world, full with her own marvelous illustrations. She considers The Return of the Dullaith as just the curly tip of the fairy boot. Wendy lives near San Francisco with her husband, daughters, cat and border collie. More information about Wendy’s book and art, check her site: http://wendydwalter.com.

1. Before your book, I had never seen the name Ambril; how did you manage to stumble upon that name?

I wanted Ambril to have a name that sounded inorganic and organic at the same time. One of the underlying themes in Ambril’s Tale is about humanity’s struggle to strike a balance between the environment and the technology we create so well.

Ambril Amber + brill, the first is a semi-precious stone and the second, brill sounded fern-like to me. It still does, though it’s actually the name of a fish :~).

I was so proud of my originality…until I googled Ambril and found that there were several Ambrils out and about in the world. I’m still giggling about that! Oh well, I tried!

2. How did you get the idea for your story? Was there anything that ‘sparked’ the idea?

The idea of Ambril’s Tale was born during a move from Southern California to Utah in the middle of a snowstorm. I was 10 years old, and felt like a Martian. I longed for a walking house who might take me back to my easy, sunny home.

Big questions formed in my mind then, questions that just wouldn’t leave me alone…Who am I and why am I so different?…sat across the lunch-table from me. Is this their problem, mine or is it something bigger?…we played a lot of solitaire those first few months. To be honest, these same questions still poke me occasionally. When they began to annoy me, a few years back, I decided to sit down and see if I could get Ambril to answer them for me.

3. Ambril’s Tale, The Return of the Dullaith is an illustrated book. When you wrote the story, did you plan to illustrate it? Or did it the images come to life before the story’s text did?

Great question! Sometimes the images came first, but for the most part, the writing got the ball rolling.

But whichever came first, I must say that I learned a lot about my characters while sketching them. Who knew that Mr. Pinwydden always wore argyle socks? Or that a fanged geranium’s teeth were never straight? Even I didn’t, until I rolled up my sleeves and started to sketch.

4. Which character in your book is your favorite? Why?

Another interesting question, Hendoeth and Betula are characters that simply write themselves, I hardly have time to put spaces in between the words, the dialogue comes so quickly when I write their scenes. They feel like old friends, and boss me around when we are working on a snag in the story, but I love every minute of it!

5. Any advice for aspiring authors?

Stick with it! Don’t give up, steam through to the end, then start again. It’s hard, but try to listen when your early readers critique your book. Especially if you hear the same criticism again and again. Nod, take their words to heart, and make some changes. It’s humbling, and sometimes painful, but in the end, you generally get a better book.

Thanks everyone, if you would like to contact me…

Ambril’s Facebook page
Wendy D. Walter on Twitter

Wendy’s blog:
ambrils-tale.com
Ambril’s Tale, Return of the Dullaith on Amazon
Ambril’s Tale-Return of the Dullaith- BarnesNoble

Some of the Illustrations for Book One are available here:
wendydwalter.com/illustrating

I’d love to hear from everyone,
and thank you Alison!

Giveaway Info

At each blog stop on her tour, Wendy is giving away a prize, a copy of one of her books (paperback or e-book). You can also enter her 12-12-12 Grand Prize Giveaway of a sterling silver pendant of the Tree of Life, and an End-of-Tour Grand Prize Giveaway of a hand-painted gnome, hand-painted by Wendy herself! There will also be some surprise giveaways along the way! Stay tuned!

1) To win a book: leave a comment on this blog post about what you like about magic to be entered to win a copy of Ambril’s Tale: The Return of the Dullaith in paperback or e-book format. Be sure to leave your email address in the comments so we can contact you if you’re the lucky winner. This giveaway ends five days after the post goes live.

2) To win one of the Grand Prizes: Click the link to go to Wendy’s website and enter the Rafflecopter at the bottom of the page. A winner will be selected on Dec. 12th for the  sterling silver pendant of the Tree of Life. Here’s Wendy’s site: http://wendydwalter.com/blog-tour/. OR you can click on the link here (It will lead you directly to the rafflecopter entry form): a Rafflecopter giveaway

What are you doing? Go enter the giveaway and check out the other stops on this tour! (:

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Ambril’s Tale, The Return of the Dullaith by Wendy D. Walter (Includes Q&A and Giveaway)

  1. HI Alison,

    Your blog post looks fabulous, thanks so much for your support. I’ve tweeted and facebooked all about it. I’ll be checking back to see how things are going. Please let me know if there is anything I can to help out today.

    Your blog is terrific, I’ve already signed up.

    Thanks again!

    Wendy Walter

  2. I enjoyed hearing your story behind the story! I also liked finding out how Ambril’s name came about, a name I like very much, btw. It has such a pleasing musical feel to it, and for me anyway, conjures a sense of magic.

Leave a Reply

