Four Books I’m Thankful For

Guess what tomorrow is?! THANKSGIVING! [Well, for the United States anyway.] I love this holiday because I get to spend it with my entire family. I also love to eat a lot of food.

This is a holiday of thanks. I’m thankful for my life and every person in it. I’m thankful for a bunch of things, but especially books. Where would my life be without books? Where would your life be without books?

Thanksgiving got me thinking: What books am I really thankful for? I have a bunch of favorites, but which ones have been significant parts of my life? Here are the ones that came to mind (in no particular order):

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

I read this book in my 6th grade project plus class. I loved this book so much that I went to the bookstore and bought the rest of the series. To this day, it still bothers me that I don’t have the second book because the store never had it, but that I have the rest of the series. A Wrinkle in Time was the book that got me to transition to YA books. Even though it’s a middle grade read, I decided to challenge myself and venture into the YA section after finding a few good middle grade reads.

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

I read this book in the middle of 7th grade. All of girls would pass around a book they really loved and Twilight happened to be the pick of the year. Half of my middle school life revolved around this series. My friends and I spent hours discussing different aspects of these books. We went to book and movie releases, swooned over the characters, and even baked a cake! I got my best friend into reading by getting her into this book. Without Twilight, my best friend would not be reading today.

Silver Phoenix by Cindy Pon

This book was the first book I read with an Asian protagonist. At the time, I was finally realizing that I should embrace my culture instead of pushing away from it. Although my parents were both born in China, they never raised me and my siblings with Chinese traditions (other than the Lunar New Year). This book influenced me to learn about my culture even more.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna and the French Kiss made me truly realize a lot of the things I preached. For example, I have always disliked when people use the word ‘gay’ as a derogatory word. It wasn’t until the characters in this book made me really realize that. I don’t remember if I the word ‘gay’ or ‘lesbian’ was used against me in a derogatory way, but I know that before sophomore year, I probably would have been upset if some called me that. This book made me ask myself “why?” Why would I be bothered? I didn’t believe those words were derogatory, so why should I react as if they were derogatory? That’s when it clicked. It shouldn’t bother me because there is nothing wrong with being homosexual.

The click I had means a lot to me. I see it as an important spot in my life because I don’t think I’ve ever had something so prominent stand out to me as this one.

Out of the hundreds of books I’ve read, these have impacted my life the most. I know that I would not be the same if I had not read these, and I wouldn’t go back and change anything. Now tell me, which books are you thankful for?

One thought on “Four Books I’m Thankful For

  1. I agree wholeheartedly with your choice of ‘A Wrinkle in Time’ and the ‘Twilight’ series. I love Madeleine L’Engle and consumed the Twilight series in a couple of weeks by staying up too late, several nights in a row. I’m off to check out the Silver Phoenix and Anna, as I haven’t heard of either of them. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

