A Summer Update [Book Recommendations and More]

Hello everyone! How is your summer going?

Recently, I’ve only been posting book reviews. It’s nice and all that I’m giving you guys my feedback on current novels, but I need to branch out. My blog is a book blog, which means that I’ll post anything that revolves around books; I have not been doing so. I apologize and plan to write up some posts that aren’t thoughts of books (so look out for a few of those).

It’s the summer before my senior year and it isn’t as fun as I thought it would be. I’m working and researching colleges and…that’s kinda it. I told myself I would try and read five books from my TBR pile and that hasn’t happened. I’m putting all the books I’ve been sent for review before the books I’d just read for fun. But, I did read a few books recently that wowed me. I’m here to share them.

Invincible Summer by Hannah Moskowitz

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Perfect Escape by Jennifer Brown

Due to lack of time, I’m constantly reading book after book I’ve been sent for review. To tell you the truth, very few of them really pull me in and make me love the story I’m reading. The books above really grabbed my attention; I’m sure they’ll grab yours too! The writing in Daughter of Smoke and Bone is captivating and wonderful; Perfect Escape evokes a raw emotion few other novels are capable of doing and Invincible Summer was different than all of the other cutesy-summer-romance stories I’ve read. Go find these books and read them right now.

Who has heard of VOYA?

I’m assuming a lot of you have. Now, do you know what it stands for? I didn’t before this year. VOYA stands for Voice of Youth Advocates and they promote “the advocacy of young adults” and “the promotion of young adult literature and reading.” Awesome, right?

A few months ago, I was interviewed by Edith Campbell, a librarian in the Cunningham Memorial Library at Indiana State University, for an article about authors and books of color. The article “Bookshelf as Prism: Finding Authors of Color” appears in the July edition of VOYA and, of course, I’m in it! Again, awesome, right?

This article focuses on authors of colors and novels that have diverse characters. It mentions quite a few books (that I had never heard of before) that I quickly added to my TBR list. I would love it if you checked out the article! (It starts on page 28.)

Now I’m gonna start talking about something not-so-book-related, if you don’t mind. My friend Leigh (the one who edits my book reviews) and I started a blog titled Lithography of the Mind. We have a lot of deep, meaningful conversations on a lot of things and we thought it would be a good idea to open it up to other people. On this blog we’re discussing topics that we ponder on, even though none of them have a right answer. If you’re interested in following intellectual conversations, please take a look at our blog!

For me, summer is halfway over. Still, I hope you are having a wonderful summer and will continue to do so! Go splash some waves, drink some lemonade and fall into a great book in the sun!

Leave a Reply

