Book Thoughts: Revived by Cat Patrick

(**I received this book from the publisher in exchange for a thoughtful review.)

As a little girl, Daisy Appleby was killed in a school bus crash. Moments after the accident, she was brought back to life. 

A secret government agency has developed a drug called Revive that can bring people back from the dead, and Daisy Appleby, a test subject, has been Revived five times in fifteen years. Daisy takes extraordinary risks, knowing that she can beat death, but each new death also means a new name, a new city, and a new life. When she meets Matt McKean, Daisy begins to question the moral implications of Revive, and as she discovers the agency’s true goals, she realizes she’s at the center of something much larger—and more sinister—than she ever imagined.

Can you imagine dying and being brought back to life? I’m not even sure if I can picture myself being put through that situation. In Revived, Daisy has been brought back five times. That’s insane, if you asked me. Patrick has written about an idea that many people have played around with. There’s always talk about someone coming up with a way to revive and person, and here’s a result laid out for us.

For the most part, Daisy is an easy character to empathize/sympathize with, if you ignore the fact that she’s experienced dying before. She is caring and thoughtful, but I found her immature. Even though she is only a year younger than I am, I found her thoughts and actions incredibly annoying. I found her to make decisions without really thinking things through and by doing so, she seemed younger than she is. I know that every person is different, but Daisy’s character ended up being one of the few characters I would probably not be friends with in reality.

On the other hand, I really liked Audrey and Matt. Audrey is going through a really depressing situation, but she doesn’t let it bring her down. Her perceptive towards life is beautiful and I wish I could think like her. With Matt, he’s completely affected by his sister’s situation and reacts in a way that so many others would. He’s irrational and sad and caring, and all of the things he does throughout the book that makes him appear real. Although Matt isn’t the protagonist, I found his character to have a lot more depth than Daisy’s.

Another aspect of this novel I noticed was Patrick’s write/Daisy’s voice. It’s simple, which makes it clear and easy to understand for the reader. I never had trouble understanding any part of the book because of its writing –which was nice- but I was also not able to read enough detail in certain scenes. For example, Daisy is in a hotel room with her crush after a completely embarrassing (at least for me) moment. Where’s the butterflies? Or being mortified by knowing the guy you like heard you throwing up? Because the book is in the first person perspective, I expected a little more emotion.

Revived is a decent book, but it lacked the pizzazz I was hoping for with such a unique plot. The situation Daisy has to overcome is intriguing in parts, but it never had me dying to know what happens at the end. I encourage you to check this book out, though, because every person enjoys different things.

**If you’re interested in this book, I’m giving it away here!

Leave a Reply

