Models on Book Covers

Let me ask you this:

Do you like models on book covers?

Half of the book covers these days have models; the other half has everything else except real people. Recently, I’ve noticed a few growing trends in books. The first trend is a teenage (or I hope a teenage) girl in a dress with her back turned; the second trend is a person (male or female) that only has a part of his/her face showing.

At first, I didn’t mind models being on book covers. A lot of covers look really cool or really different with real faces.

Then I thought about cover models more and decided that I didn’t like them as much as I had thought. And here are the reasons:

  • Most of the cover models are attractive. I’m not saying that there aren’t books with average-looking models; I’m just saying the majority of models are really pretty or really handsome.
  • A lot of the cover models are also skinny. Are all people skinny? Are all characters skinny? The answer to both of those questions is no.
  • Models look older/younger than the character is supposed to be. I’ve seen some covers that have mid-twenty models that obviously look like they are in their mid-twenties when the characters they are representing are only sixteen.
  • Sometimes the person on the cover doesn’t resemble the way the character is described. If a girl has brown hair, the cover model should too.
  • As a reader, I think imagining characters and making them come alive in my brain is a part of the experience of reading a story. A book is open for the reader’s interpretation. Once I see the cover model, I end up picturing that character as the model on the front. I enjoy picturing the character the way I want to see him/her and a cover model ruins that for me.

Despite the words you just read, I still enjoy having models on covers. There are some covers that I think publishers planned really well. In general, I prefer the model’s face so the characters face isn’t tainted for me.

What do you guys think? Do you agree with me? Disagree with me? Leave your thoughts below!

3 thoughts on “Models on Book Covers

  1. I agree with you. I don’t have as much of an issue if the model has their back to me but still I’d rather there weren’t models a lot of the time. I’d much rather visualize the character myself. But at the same time, unless I LOVE the cover I don’t spend a lot of time staring at it so it doesn’t usually influence me. Usually. Which sounds kind of contradictory now that I read it. I guess overall I just try not to pay too much attention to covers to keep that from happening.

  2. I semi-agree with you, but I do really enjoy the covers with models on them – I don’t really look at the model rather than the dress/clothes, hair color, and other colors on the cover and the font. (Although I TOTALLY agree on the hair color point you made!) I try not to look too closely at the model’s actual features b/c I like picturing the character myself. Great post!

  3. I hate… HATE… when the model on the cover doesn’t look like the character in the book. To me, that says that someone didn’t care enough to even read the book when they picked the cover. If the heroine is chubby, 15 and has red hair, the model on the cover should at least look around 15, not be rail thin, and have red hair. If the hero is in college, and has long hair and tattoos, so should the cover model. That said, to me, the cover is an extension of the book. I know a lot of self-published books don’t have great covers. I can understand that but, if the book is released from a major publishing house, it better have a pretty good cover! (I like the models. I want all my book characters to be prettier than real life. All heroines should be gorgeous and all heroes should be hot, unless, of course, they’re intentionally not in the book. As for skinny? People can be gorgeous/hot without being skinny.) :o)

Leave a Reply

