Book Thoughts: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Site by Jennifer E. Smith

(**Received from publisher in exchange for a thoughtful review.)

Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?

Today should be one of the worst days of seventeen-year-old Hadley Sullivan’s life. She’s stuck at JFK, late to her father’s second wedding, which is taking place in London and involves a soon to be step-mother that Hadley’s never even met. Then she meets the perfect boy in the airport’s cramped waiting area. His name is Oliver, he’s British, and he’s in seat 18C. Hadley’s in 18A. 

Twists of fate and quirks of timing play out in this thoughtful novel about family connections, second chances and first loves. Set over a 24-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver’s story will make you believe that true love finds you when you’re least expecting it.

I’m not joking when I say that every review I have read gave this novel positive feedback. Let’s face it; The Statistical Probability of Love at First Site has a really cute summary and a really cute cover. Going in, I had a very high expectation for this book. I think my high hopes negatively affected my thoughts on this novel in the end…

Smith does not hesitate to kick the book off right away. The prologue itself asks the “what if?” questions I ask myself almost every day. Most YA books today are written in first person; it was refreshing to discover that this novel is written in the third person. I connected with Hadley not only because I related to her thoughts and feelings, but also because the third person allowed me to picture myself in her shoes.

The highlight of this novel is the juxtaposing ideas throughout the story. Life and death is one theme, while another is love and hate. The two both overlap in the lives of Hadley and Oliver, just like they do in reality. Smith presents these themes in a way that brings out the delicate beauty of life, beginning with the quote from Charles Dickens. This juxtaposition of ideas happens to be my favorite part of the novel because of how well-done it is written.

While reading this novel I found it hard to keep my full attention. At some parts, I was really into the novel; at other parts I wasn’t. I predicted many parts of the story and became annoyed with Hadley here and there. Because this novel takes place in a period of twenty-four hours, it skips around a lot. The book focuses on the time spent when Hadley and Oliver are together and I’m still not sure how I feel about the lack of other story scenes…

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Site is a sad but sweet story about chance between a boy and a girl. It makes you smile and cry at once and wish that you would meet your true love like this. If you are a fan of romance and believe in fate, the probability of enjoyment is 100%.

One thought on “Book Thoughts: The Statistical Probability of Love at First Site by Jennifer E. Smith

  1. I absolutely loved reading this book. The title and cover alone made me want to get it. Hadley and Oliver were so cute to read. Hadley is going through a lot with the wedding coming up and Oliver is just so random and quite myterious but also a gentleman. Their time on the plane was some of my favorite scenes. I do wish it was longer because the story was great and I didn’t want it to end, but at the same time the fast pacing and how everything ends seemed perfect and realistic. Yes I will be reading this book many times to come.

Leave a Reply

