Interview with Gwen Hayes

Gwen Hayes, the author of Falling Under and it’s sequel, Dreaming Awake, has answered some questions for me! I’m a fan of her novels, and I was very happy when I found out I would have an interview with her to put on my blog!

1. What was the thing that sparked the idea for your novel?

Well, Dreaming Awake is a sequel, so the thing that sparked the idea for this novel was more or less… the first book and a contract. 🙂

But I had no idea what to write, at first, because I had originally pitched Falling Under as a standalone book. In my search for the sequel ideas, I only had to look to my characters.

So many times, we read books or watch movies where the hero saves the girl and they live happily ever after…what happens after? And what if the hero didn’t think of everything during the rescue? And what if the heroine needs to save herself? So, I looked to Theia to tell me what happens when your happily ever after is flawed.

2. Did your own experiences and attitude play a role in developing Theia’s character?

Theia is the anti-Gwen in so, so many ways. She makes a lot of decisions that make me want to wring her neck. I have to back away from my laptop a lot or I would insinuate myself into her character to try to fix her–which wouldn’t be true to character. We have a love/hate relationship. I want to hug her and then ground her to her room for a year.

3. A majority of teenage girls would do anything to have Haden; would you date him if you had the chance?

Absolutely not! For one thing…who wants a mother-in-law like Mara?

Just kidding.

I loved writing Haden. He’s complex and twisted and naive and world-weary at the same time. Plus, he knows how to work a cravat.

4. Do you listen to music while you write? If you do, is there any artist or album that is constantly on repeat?

I listen to music while I’m getting ready to write and in between writing, but not during the actual putting down the words. As far as constant repeat, I listened to a lot of Neverending White Lights from Canada for Theia and Haden. And Poe. There is also a cover of “Sweet Dreams” from the Eurrthmics done by Marilyn Manson that really sets the mood for Under.

5. If you could work with any author, who would it be and why?

I would love to collaborate with Joss Whedon someday! He doesn’t write novels…yet…but his screenwriting is amazing. His characters are so rich and unexpected. And his villians….you know it’s good writing when you love the hero, but can’t help but love the villain too.

Leave a Reply

