Best Books of 2011

I cannot believe 2011 is coming to an end, yet at the same time I can believe. So much has happened in the past year, including my blog change. I hope 2011 was a good year for you and that 2012 will be better. I want to thank you. Thank you for subscribing, commenting, and visiting my blog. Without you guys (and the blogging community) my love for books wouldn’t have turned into this. Thanks for sticking with me another year!

I’m excited for 2012! (Did you know that 2012 is the year of the dragon?) Do you guys have any resolutions? I don’t… but I’m sure I’ll come up with something eventually. Anyways, because 2012 is coming it’s time to highlight my favorites of the year! The books that I’m posting are what I think were the bests of this year.

Best Books of 2011

Divergent by Veronica Roth

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself. 

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes infuriating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves… or it might destroy her. 

Why it’s on this list:

I heard amazing things about this book but didn’t get to read it until my friend gave me the book and wouldn’t let me give it back to her until I read it. The summary hadn’t jumped out at me when I read it so it wasn’t a must-read. I quickly fell into Beatrice’s world. I was really curious about the way this dystopian worked and I’m not joking when I say that everything in this book interested me. Although this book reminded me of other books, I also found it to be original. There are really no other words to explain how much I enjoyed this book; when you read it, you’ll understand.

The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder

Dry, sarcastic, sixteen-year-old Cam Cooper has spent the last seven years in and out hospitals. The last thing she wants to do in the short life she has left is move 1,500 miles away to Promise, Maine – a place known for the miraculous events that occur there. But it’s undeniable that strange things happen in Promise: everlasting sunsets; purple dandelions; flamingoes in the frigid Atlantic; an elusive boy named Asher; and finally, a mysterious envelope containing a list of things for Cam to do before she dies. As Cam checks each item off the list, she finally learns to believe – in love, in herself, and even in miracles.

Why it’s on my list:

I love Cam. She is nothing like me, and I think that’s why I love her. While reading, I sighed in disappointment when she made certain decisions that I would never make. Cam is frightened, yet fearless. Life is all about living and I really believe Cam started to live when she made the decision to complete her bucket list. I desperately want to explore the world around me and live outside my comfort zone and Cam does that even though things aren’t going great for her. The story plot and other characters are also great, which is the reason this novel makes my list.

 Eona: The Last Dragoneye by Alison Goodman

Eon has been revealed as Eona, the first female Dragoneye in hundreds of years. Along with fellow rebels Ryko and Lady Dela, she is on the run from High Lord Sethon’s army. The renegades are on a quest for the black folio, stolen by the drug-riddled Dillon; they must also find Kygo, the young Pearl Emperor, who needs Eona’s power and the black folio if he is to wrest back his throne from the selfstyled “Emperor” Sethon. Through it all, Eona must come to terms with her new Dragoneye identity and power-and learn to bear the anguish of the ten dragons whose Dragoneyes were murdered. As they focus their power through her, she becomes a dangerous conduit for their plans. . . .

I’ve patiently waited two years for this sequel to release. The first book is amazing, the sequel is amazing, and I’ve come to the conclusion that Alison Goodman is amazing. Eona is really long but every word is worth it. The plot is detailed, original, and mind-boggling. Eona is also a kick-ass character, which makes the book that much better. I think that the world of Eona is one of the best fantasy worlds, which is why it makes my list.

Do any of these books make your list? What books are on your list?

One thought on “Best Books of 2011

  1. I really need to read Divergent, as I’ve seen it pop up on more than one list of favorite 2011 reads! As for resolutions, my main one is to cut back on new books so I can read the ones I already own!

    Didn’t know that 2012 was the year of the dragon. Very cool! 🙂

Leave a Reply

