Making Goals

In the beginning of the year I made a goal to read 100 books by the end of 2011. I had set the goal for myself last year and didn’t reach it. I honestly thought I would reach the goal this year because I was on a roll in the first half of the year. Now, I doubt I’m going to reach that goal seeing that I’ve only read 79 books.

So far, reading 100 books is really the only goal I’ve set and attempted to accomplish. Yes, I had said that my goal was to update more and such. The difference between those goals was that I was serious about one; I just wanted the other to happen. It’s good to set goals for yourself but you are only going to reach them if you strive for them.

As a blogger, I have found that I get more things accomplished when I set goals for myself. Each month I get a few books to review and recently I haven’t had time to read. I have tons of books I would like to read but I have told myself that the books for review must be finished first. I’ve been able to finish each book before I get the next one which, right now, is good for me.

Setting goals for yourself shows you want change (for the better). This advice is for anyone, but it works if you are a reader and a blogger. A few of my friends write down the list of books they have to read and then check it off as they go along. Personally, I think this is smart idea. I mentally make lists but end up forgetting half of the books on it by the next month.

With new novels coming out each month, I know that you can get a little behind on keeping up with it all. Especially when you have to throw work, school, clubs, etc. into the equation, things can get hectic. Setting goals for yourself helps you manage your time and who doesn’t like having time? I think you guys should try it… (:

(Check out my managing time post here.)

2 thoughts on “Making Goals

  1. Excellent post! I like the idea of writing down the books you need to review, as I tend to forget about the eBooks as they aren’t sitting in front of me. I set the 100 books goal for myself as well, and I only have 7 more to go! Fingers crossed I can make it, as I couldn’t last year. If not, then there’s always next year, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

