Book Thoughts: Reckless by Cornelia Funke

(*I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for a thoughtful review)

For years, Jacob Reckless has enjoyed the Mirrorworld’s secrets and treasures.

Not anymore.

His younger brother has followed him.

Now dark magic will turn the boy to beast, break the heart of the girl he loves, and destroy everything Jacob holds most dear. . . .

Unless he can find a way to stop it.

I am usually able to tell if I will like a book from the beginning. With Reckless I was wary because the first few chapters had me really confused. The book is told in third person but every other chapter focuses on a different character. At the start of every book, I’m slow with learning the difference between the characters and trying to remember any background stories they may have. Honestly, I wasn’t able to keep up with the different people and situations that were going on in the beginning. It took me good amount of pages to understand what was going on and to get comfortable with the story.

Cornelia Funke does a good job at creating a fairy tale. The story felt dreamlike and magical and it just feels like a fairytale. I know that is not the best description; you have to read the story to fully appreciate the way the author pulls you in. Not only did it feel like a fairytale, Funke also adds other fairytales too it. Other tales were incorporated in such a way that they added to, and sat well, with Jacob’s story.

A positive thing about this novel is that it has a lot of detail. The world easily came alive in my mind’s eye. I could imagine the world clearly but unfortunately I couldn’t clearly visualize the characters. This book is in the young adult genre but I feel the writing is more like other books that are aimed towards middle grade. I don’t remember the text ever mentioning how old the characters are but I concluded that they were in their early twenties. It was interesting to read a book with older characters but in a simpler writing style even though it was categorized as YA…

 The characters and plot are easily enjoyable but I don’t think I ever really got into this novel. What I mean is that I never had the urge to continue reading the book when I had to put it down.  This book just wasn’t for me, but I’m sure a few of my friends would love it if they picked it up. A lot of this novel also reminded me of Artemis Fowl in a way. If you like fairytales, I suggest you check this one out in your free time.

Leave a Reply

