Movie Thoughts: Monte Carlo

Storyline:

 A young woman, her uptight step sister and her best friend use their savings for a long anticipated dream trip to Paris, which turns out to be a big disappointment. When they decide to take a break from their lousy tour and duck into the lobby of a luxury hotel, one of them is mistaken for a spoiled British heiress. Before they get the chance to reveal their true identities they are wrapped up in misadventures during a vacation to Monte Carlo instead. (From IMDB written by Fox 2000 Pictures).

I didn’t know this but apparently this movie is loosely based off of the novel Headhunters by Jules Bass. And I mean loosely. If I had read the book I wouldn’t have known Monte Carlo was based off of it.

My friend and I thought this movie would be a knock off of The Lizzie McGuire Movie. It wasn’t but it could be mistaken as the same thing. I love Selena Gomez and was excited to see the movie even though I hadn’t planned on going to see it. I’m very glad I saw it, though. It’s full of life, love and dreams come true. This movie was fun to see and just makes your day (:

With less than two hours of screen time I found the plot to flow really smoothly. There were no awkward scene jumps and it wasn’t hard to follow what was going on. The character development for the three protagonists (Grace, Emma and Meg) is also shown well. I don’t think this movie is the best I’ve seen but it’s worth it.

I feel people my age and younger (well, girls really) will enjoy this movie.  It makes you dream of the possibilities. It makes you wish for the same romance. It makes you smile. If you thought about going to see Monte Carlo go and do so!

Leave a Reply

