Keep an Open Mind

Take a moment and think of all the books you have read. Now think of all the books that have been recommended to you / you have picked up to read the summaries. How many of those books have you turned down because it didn’t seem like your ‘type’? Or because it was too long or too short? Or because it didn’t have a cool cover?

Recently, a lot of my friends have been asking to borrow books from me. I explain the summary of the book and they would tell me if they’re interested or not. Yes, I know you only read certain things. Yes, I know you are sick of the same themes. I’m writing this post to remind everyone to keep an open mind.

Earlier in the year I heard about this book called Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma. It’s a book where a brother and sister fall in love. I didn’t want to read this the first time I read the summary. Half a year later and now I desperately want to read this book all because of Simon and Schuster’s tweet. I don’t remember exactly what it said. The tweet was along the lines of how forbidden romances were in and how falling in love with a family member was a forbidden romance. That doesn’t sound like much but I promise you I had a mind-opening experiencing just from reading that tweet.

At the Diversity in YA tour event the authors talked about how some people wouldn’t pick up his/her book because of the protagonist’s race. I also know people who won’t read a book that deals with drugs or because it is a series. I understand if the summary doesn’t sound interesting to you. What I don’t understand is how someone can turn away a book because it isn’t his/her ‘type’ of book.

I’m not telling you to go and read everything you are not interested in. Next time if a teacher recommends a classic to you I suggest you check it out. If a friend says a certain book is refreshing in a genre that’s getting old, check it out. It doesn’t hurt to read the first few pages. If you don’t like it, put it down. You never know, that book you wouldn’t have touched could become your next new favorite…

One thought on “Keep an Open Mind

  1. For me, I think it’s especially important to keep an open mind about genres. I will often tell people that I don’t like dystopias or mysteries or thrillers or science fiction. All these are true, but I can also tell you books in each of these genres that I loved. I have to remind myself of this when I dismiss a book just because of the genre it’s categorized in.

Leave a Reply

