School Reads

In middle and high school students are required to read certain novels for the curriculum. High school is really the time where teens are exposed to the classics and more ‘famous’ novels. I don’t know about any of you, but I know that my school lessons/curriculum has changed the way I view a novel. Sometimes it’s good and sometimes it’s bad. Does it happen to you? Did it happen to you?

Well, try not to let school influence your opinion on said book.

Really I’m trying to say that school shouldn’t ruin a novel for you. Certain books like Of Mice and Men and The Odyssey are probably not on your hurry-to-read list but that doesn’t mean they shouldn’t be read. A lot of teens groan when their teacher says it’s time to read a new book. I have. It’s not that I don’t want to read it; I just hate the never ending analyzing that comes with it. Even my current English teacher told us how much she loved a certain novel in grade school but can no longer read it because of the school work she had to do for it.

Of course analyzing and understand the text is good but next time try and not let it ruin the book for you. Instead of looking at work for that novel negatively, tell yourself that it will help you comprehend the book overall. I can tell you that things I have learned in English have helped me interpret a lot of stories better.

Has this happened to you?! Thoughts?! Leave your comments below!

One thought on “School Reads

Leave a Reply

