Review: Wherever You Go by Heather Davis

(*Recieved from NetGalley for review).

Seventeen-year-old Holly Mullen has felt lost and lonely ever since her boyfriend, Rob, died in a tragic accident. But she has no idea that as she goes about her days, Rob’s ghost is watching over her. He isn’t happy when he sees his best friend, Jason, trying to get close to Holly—but as a ghost, he can do nothing to stop it. As their uncertain new relationship progresses, the past comes back to haunt Holly and Jason. Her Alzheimer’s-stricken grandfather claims to be communicating with the ghost of Rob. Could the messages he has for Holly be real? And if so, how can the loved ones Rob left behind help his tortured soul make it to the other side?

I have read Davis’s other book, The Clearing, and absolutely loved it. When I found out about Wherever You Go I was just a tad excited…

I started the book with high hopes, but I guess they were a little high because I found the first few chapters of the novel to move slower than I expected. You meet hard-working Holly who is taking care of her family. You learn that her recent boyfriend, Rob, has been killed in a car accident. You meet Jason who was Rob’s friend that now has feelings for Holly. Kinda interesting, right? Well, interesting is an understatement. As you read on, you find the novel gripping you in a way your mind cannot explain.

One thing that killed me was the phenomenal dramatic irony in the plot. It overlaps in so many areas that you are literally pulling your hair out because other characters do not know what’s going on. Okay, so I didn’t pull my hair out. What I did was yell, rant, and make faces at the book quite a few times.

There are many things I loved about this novel. I loved the impact this book has on the reader. Many of today’s life issues are present in this book that teens (and adults) can empathize with. It captures the heart and makes you feel like you aren’t alone. I also loved the different kinds of love explored in the novel. A lot of books just focus on the romance and I was happy to find out this story focused on family love, romance, and loving yourself.

Davis has blown my mind away again. I recommend Wherever You Go to everyone. Go pick up this book on the second it releases (November 14, 2011)!

Rating: 4 / 5

Leave a Reply

