Interview with Cindy Pon

Cindy Pon, author of Silver Phoenix and Fury of the Phoenix happily answered some questions for me!

1. In Silver Pheonix: Beyond the Kingdom of Xia, we see that Ai Ling loves to eat. What is your favorite dish that you have mentioned in the story?

 I do love dumplings but also tofu, which I refer to as bean curd dishes in the novel. Yum!

2. If you could switch places with any character in your book, who would it be and why?

Hmm, probably Li Rong, because he’s such a goof. =D

3. If you could choose any artist to compose an album for your books, who would it be and why?

Gustav Klimt. He is my favorite artist! I went to Vienna, Austria especially to see his originals in the museums.

4. The cover to your sequel, Fury of the Phoenix, has been released. You said that Silver Pheonix: Beyond the Kingdom of Xia’s cover is also being remade to fit the sequels cover. Do you prefer the original or the new cover?

I will always love my original cover. It is so beautiful! But I appreciate my publisher redesigning the cover to attract new readers. And I think the Fury cover and entire jacket is gorgeous.

5. Any writing tips?

My personal writing mantra is: You are allowed to write utter poo!

We tend to be our own worst enemies as writers. So don’t let fear or fear of failure and not being good enough stop you from writing. Always challenge yourself with each new writing project. Also read widely in all genres.

Thank you Cindy! I loved having you on the blog (: I love Cindy’s novels and I’m pretty sure you will too! Please check out Fury of the Phoenix’s trailer here. For those of you who have read Fury, Cindy is having a contest on her blog here.

Leave your thoughts below (:

One thought on “Interview with Cindy Pon

  1. Yay for dumplings and tofu! I could live off of that stuff for forever. My favorite are shrimp and tofu dumplings. 😀 And lol at the personal writing mantra! That is such excellent advice, writing more even when it’s less than perfect helps make writing more stuff so much easier. Wonderful interview!

Leave a Reply

