For Real (Part 2)

The question is: Are all of the common themes/stereotypes real?! Do they really occur in an average high school?! Well I am here to tell you the realities of certain situations. Believe me; I know enough about high school to tell you if it’s real or not. (I’m a sophomore if you were wondering).

Check out Part 1 here.

  • Parents Randomly Not Caring / Not Being There Ever

In a ton of books I read, parents are never there or they never care. Tell me how that works. This one I can tell is not true at all. Yes, there are few parents out there that don’t keep track of their children. Even so, they guess what’s going on with their kids or catch their kids doing something. Yes, parents don’t know everything that’s happening in our lives. Yes, they aren’t on top of everything. But more than 50% of parents care about their kids and are there for you. Personally, I don’t know anyone that has both parents/guardians just not there for them.

  • Not Having a Cell Phone

Okay, I have to admit that a lot of newer characters have phones now. Seriously though, when something happens all the phones/communication devices just disappear. Sorry, but now four year olds have phones. Also, most teens don’t go places without phones so it’s unusual for characters to forget their phone. I do have to say that I have a friend who doesn’t have a phone so once in a while you do have that. I don’t want to be mean but this one is a little BS-ish.

  • Girls thinking they are ugly, fat, etc.

This one kills me. Every since Karen Kincy (author of Other) put up her post I cannot stop thinking about how a ton of YA girls think they aren’t pretty, or that they’re fat, or that no one likes them. The reason is for us girls to empathize with the character. But by doing so, we think the same thing of ourselves. Yes, a ton of girls they aren’t pretty. Yes, a ton of girls think they need to lose weight. But that doesn’t mean all of us do. For the most part, this theme is half true in the real world. It makes me sad, but I guess it’s not my place to say since I’m one of those girls that agrees/empathizes with those characters.

Thoughts?! Also leave some other reoccuring themes you’re getting sick of !

One thought on “For Real (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

