Review: Overprotected by Jennifer Laurens

Ashlyn: A lonely society princess living in New York City.

Daddy hired you to be my bodyguard.

Colin: Childhood enemy, now her protector.

Daddy thought I’d be safe. He thought I’d never fall in love. He thought he could keep me forever.

Charles: obsessed with keeping her safe, keeping her his, he hires the one person he knows she could never fall in love with: Colin.

Daddy was wrong.

 

Jennifer Laurens is pretty popular around the blogosphere. I always knew everyone was in love with her novels but was never able to understand why they were. I now know of that love for her novels. How can I not? Her writing is addictive.

Overprotected is your teenage rebellion novel. It’s also your body guard-falls-in-love-with-girl novel. It might sound cliché, but it’s so much more than that. I’ve never been in Ashlyn’s position but I feel that Laurens has captured her emotions perfectly. Actually, Laurens created the whole character perfectly. I loved Ashlyn’s innocence, curiosity, and random bursts of courage. The protagonist was easy to relate to because I found myself becoming Ashlyn-living the novel, not reading it.

I truly could not put this book down. Colin was the boy I wish existed in my life and Ashlyn’s life was almost hard to believe. I read on, anxious for their relationship to blossom. I was grinning and smiling every time Colin and Ashlyn were together. I also choked in disgust or disbelief when other situations came up. Every phrase evoked emotions from me. Tell me this novel isn’t good if it can do that.

I think teenage girls would appreciate this book most. Not saying anyone else wouldn’t, but I know Colin and Ashlyn’s relationship made me jealous. This book made me talk, and I see me and my friends spending a day or two discussing this novel. A really cute read!

Rating: 4 / 5

2 thoughts on “Review: Overprotected by Jennifer Laurens

  1. Nice, concise review! I’ve only read one of Jennifer Laurens’s books (something about Romeo and Juliet) and while the plot was kind of cliche, I definitely agree that she adds a relateable protagonist and other little nuances that make the story her own. I’ll have to check this one out sometime! (:

    I also wanted to say thanks for posting about the HS bloggers list. We’re almost at 25, woot!

    And last comment, I swear, I’ve been wanting to read Eon and Eona because they just sound so EPIC — so I’ll definitely watch out for your thoughts. Enjoy!

    • Awe thanks for the nice words 🙂 I actually want to read Falling For Romeo by Jennifer Laurens too! 🙂

      Oh yeah, no problem for posting! We have to get the word out there 🙂

      Read Eon! It’s amazing. I haven’t started the sequel yet, but I’ve loved Eon since it’s come ou! The protagonist is very kick-ass and finally, a plot not based off romance!

Leave a Reply

