Changing Covers 2

Changing Covers

This is my second changing covers post, so I think I might as well make this another category of posts. These posts are dedicated to my thoughts on when a book changes covers when releasing in paperback if they started off in hardcover. Check out my first post here.

Hardcover => Paperback
(
First cover shown is original, second is new)

The Eternal Ones by Kirsten Miller

The first time I laid my eyes on the paperback cover, I flipped out. In a good way. The first cover is simple, but I think the second one is more beautiful and eye-catching. The image inside the Ouroboros symbol gives you a glimpse of a scene that I think leaves you wanting to know more. The silver against the black is very distinct and all the colors flow very well.

Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

It seems that 99.99% of the bloggers prefer the old ones. Guess what? So do I. I loved the old ones. I found it interesting that the girl on the cover was purple yet gorgeous. I think the paperback is cool in its own way but I prefer the old one.

The Secret Year by Jennifer R. Hubbard

I just noticed, but the hardcover is dark and the paperback is light. I think it’s interesting the way they went at that and changed the mood of the cover. With these two, I enjoy both. I do have to say the first cover can be awkward if you feel awkward easily. Both of them capture two POV’s and I can see how both relate to the novel. Both covers work for me.

The Extraordinary Secrets of April, May & June by Robin Benway

For me, the paperback cover is more appealing. The colors in the first cover pop, but I find it weird that the same girl is on it three times. The second cover is more interesting because it looks like the girls are posing for a picture they don’t want taken. I also love how they are all unique with their hair and clothes even when the summary reveals they are sisters.

So, opinions?! Leave them below!

2 thoughts on “Changing Covers 2

  1. I prefer the first cover of the Extraordinary Secrets of April, May, and June. I never realized and the three of them was the same girl, and I always imagined the girls in the book like the ones in the cover. The right cover was great too, but it didn’t exactly take all of my attention when I saw it… and when would ever June decline to be taken in a picture? Well… maybe if she wasn’t dressed up, but either way she would always love to be taken a picture of herself.

Leave a Reply

