Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

(Briana from Bree’s Books suggested I review this book and so I did. Shout out to her 😀 Go check out her blog after reading this review).

Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that once love — the deliria — blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the governments demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.

But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.

Recently there has just been an explosion of dystopian novels. Not that I mind; they just tend to blur together. With all books from the same genre, you tend to see similarities in all of them. Delirium is a fresh breath of air in a genre that is starting to get a little stale.

Let’s start off with Lena, shall we? Well if you didn’t know she is the main character. She is your usual ‘good girl’ type. Lena doesn’t break the rules or even thinks about breaking them.  She is easy to relate to. Lauren Oliver has given Lena has a true teenage voice. I wouldn’t be surprised if Lena went to my school.

At first I didn’t understand why everyone loved this book. Yeah, it was good. But the beginning started off slow for me. I don’t think that matters, though, when you get through it all. There is amazing character development and enough heart-racing action to make you go insane. I can tell you I flipped out a few times while reading this book.

Oliver has taken today’s reality and mixed it with her world. The teens curse, rebel and you know, act like teenagers. In other dystopia novels I’ve read the teens are always more mature and well-behaved. Lena’s world is like ours, and it’s kinda scary to know that in one step everything can be controlled.

What got me was the ending. Everything built up and exploded. When I mean exploded, I mean EXPLODED. Dang. Talk about an awesome cliffhanger. I was screaming when it ended. There is no word in the English dictionary that explains how phenomenal this book is. Read it now.

Rating: 5 / 5

One thought on “Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Leave a Reply

