Haunted = New Moon

Who is a fan of Taylor Swift?! I am!

If you are not, then you should still read this post (it’s quite interesting). If you are, then you might have already noticed what I’m about to talk about. Her recent album has a song called ‘Haunted’ on it. Now have any of you really listened to the lyrics?! Yes? No? Well, the story of the song is the exact story of New Moon by Stephenie Meyer.

*GASP*

 Let’s examine the song, shall we?!

You and I walk a fragile line
I have known it all this time
but I never thought I’d live to see it break

Bella and Edward walk a fragile line because he is a vampire and she’s not (duh). He thirsts for her blood and has to fight his temptation everyday. Bella’s hopeful though and thinks that this issue won’t break them apart because of their love for one another.

It’s getting dark and it’s all too quiet
And I can’t trust anything now
And it’s coming over you like it’s all a big mistake

This part represents the days after her disastrous birthday party. After Jasper attacks her, she realizes it isn’t as easy as her mind wants it to be. It was a mistake that she cut herself and that Jasper attacked her, but Edward is taking it harder.

Oh, I’m holding my breath
Won’t loose you again
something’s made your eyes go cold

Edward and Bella are in the woods and he says that he’s leaving her.

Come on, come on, don’t leave me like this
I thought I had you figured out
Something’s gone terribly wrong
You’re all I wanted
Come on, come on, don’t leave me like this
I thought I had you figured out
Can’t breathe whenever you’re gone
Can’t turn back now, I’m haunted

Bella knows that she loves him and she’ll be nothing without Edward. With all the things they had been through together, she thinks she knew him. Bella thought she figured Edward out (or at least most of him). When he leaves, she knows she won’t be able to carry on without him because Edward is her other half.

Stood there and watched you walk away
From everything we had
But I still mean every word I said to you

Bella tries to follow Edward through the woods but fails miserably. Bella does mean every word she said to him because it’s true. She really does love him and would do anything for Edward.

He would try to take away my pain
And he just might make me smile
But the whole time I’m wishing he was you instead

The ‘he’ is Jacob. Jacob knows Bella is hurting because of Edward and tries to take her pain away. Bella smiles and starts to become herself again with Jacob, but her heart still bleeds from the wound Edward has left. No matter how much time she spends with Jake to make things better, she secretly wishes she was spending time with Edward instead.

Oh, I’m holding my breath
Won’t see you again
something keeps me holding on to nothing

Bella hopes that she will see Edward again, but she knows that he’s not coming back. Still, she holds onto him and all the times they spent together. Even though Edward tells her to forget about him, she doesn’t.

Come on, come on, don’t leave me like this
I thought I had you figured out
Something’s gone terribly wrong
You’re all I wanted
Come on, come on, don’t leave me like this
I thought I had you figured out
Can’t breathe whenever you’re gone
Can’t turn back now, I’m haunted

The best part about this song is that Bella is literally being ‘haunted’ by Edward. Okay, so not really being haunted by him, but she keeps seeing him. Every time Bella does something reckless Edward shows up to tell her to stay safe. Edward isn’t really there, but her mind is making him up because she misses him so much. Bella is haunted by Edward.

Come on, come on, don’t leave me like this
I thought I had you figured out
Something’s gone terribly wrong
Won’t finish what you started

Come on, come on, don’t leave me like this
I thought I had you figured out
Can’t breathe whenever you’re gone
Can’t go back, I’m haunted

One of the lines is ‘won’t finish what you started.’ Bella and Edward fell in love, and because of that there should be more. Bella also wanted Edward to someday change her into a vampire so she could be with him forever. By him leaving, Edward isn’t finishing what he started.

You and I walk a fragile line
I have known it all this time
Never ever thought I’d see it break.
Never thought I’d see it…

At the end of the song, Taylor breaks off the last line not really finishing the story. There’s more too it, but it hasn’t happened yet to be told. Bella knows that her story with everything hasn’t ended even with Edward gone. The ‘…’ leaves the audience guessing in both the song and story.

Oh gosh, right?! ‘Haunted’ = New Moon! Leave your thoughts below!


3 thoughts on “Haunted = New Moon

  1. I love the lyrics of this song, it’s my favorite song off her new album. It’s so beautiful, especially the line “You and I walk a fragile line”~ I haven’t read the book yet but I’ve seen the movie and wow, it does fit New Moon. Great find! 😀

Leave a Reply

