Matched Song Suggestions

Two Rebels by Honor Society

Some lyrics:

What should we do now
that we’re caught in the middle of the spotlight?
I can feel your butterflies
If we kiss will they fly away?

We had our whole life scripted
But we tossed it to the side
Those words can’t tell us nothing
Come on baby let’s improvise

Whoa-oh do you trust me enough if we become two rebels?
Whoa-oh we’re just like outlaws on the run all we have is each other
Whoa-oh we’re gonna eat sleep breathe our love
Would you become a rebel with me?

When I listen to this song, I don’t actually picture it from the POV of Cassia or Ky. The lyrics just fit with the character’s lives. They are being watched by the Society and even though it doesn’t say one of them gets butterflies, the attraction between Cassia and Ky goes stronger day by day. The lyrics ‘I can feel your butterflies / If we kiss will they fly away?’ are asking that if they take things to the next step, will they finally just fall for each other already? Gosh! Please tell me that my explanation is making sense 😛

The other lines relate to how they break away from the lies the Society is telling them. They also start making their own choices, which is the ‘improvising’ in the song. They are no longer being controlled by others. Because Cassia and Ky are the ones who rebel against the Society, they are the ‘Two Rebels.’

Robot by Miley Cyrus

Some lyrics:

But the sound of the steel
and the crush, and the grind
it will scream who am I, to decide my life
But in time it will die, they’ll be nothing left inside
Just rusted metal that was never even mine

I would scream, but I’m just this hollow shell
Waiting here, begging please
set me free, so I can feel

Stop trying to live my life for me
I need to breath, I’m not your robot
Stop telling me I’m a part of the big machine
I’m breaking free, can’t you see
I can’t love, I can’t speak
Without somebody else operating me
You gave me eyes, and now I see
I’m not your robot, I’m just me

All this time, I’ve been misled
There was nothing but cross-wires in my head
I’ve been taught to think that what I
feel doesn’t matter at all
till they say it’s real

 

This song is more of a Cassia oriented song. Again, it has the theme of other people (the Society) controlling this person (Cassia). That if they build someone with parts of others, they are taking away that person. Cassia’s actions are based on how the Society and others want and expect her to act. By listening to her heart and going against what she’s been taught, she is ‘breaking free’ from those who tried to build her into something she isn’t.

I hope you guys agree with me on these two songs! My tastes aren’t anything like most others, but that’s fine with me! At least there is a variety of song suggestions now J Tell me what you think below!

2 thoughts on “Matched Song Suggestions

  1. Wow, the first song is absolutely perfect! It totally makes sense. 😀 I can’t wait to start on Matched, Cassia and Ky sound like they’re going to be pretty awesome. Sadly, the second song doesn’t work, but great explanation!

Leave a Reply

