Review: Mad Love by Suzanne Selfors

(**Recieved an ARC copy for review)

When you’re the daughter of the bestselling Queen of Romance, life should be pretty good. But 16-year-old Alice Amorous has been living a lie ever since her mother was secretly hospitalized for mental illness. After putting on a brave front for months, time is running out. The next book is overdue, and the Queen can’t write it. Alice needs a story for her mother—and she needs one fast.

That’s when she meets Errol, a strange boy who claims to be Cupid, who insists that Alice write about the greatest love story in history: his tragic relationship with Psyche. As Alice begins to hear Errol’s voice in her head and see things she can’t explain, she must face the truth—that she’s either inherited her mother’s madness, or Errol is for real.

I really am telling the truth when I say I’m a fan of Suzanne Selfors. I discovered her last year and picked up her 2nd teen novel Coffeehouse Angel. I have yet to read Saving Juliet, but I was thrilled when I heard about Mad Love. Can I just say I love the cover?! It’s cute!

Alice is pretty easy to relate to. Well, except for the fact that I am not going through anything she is, I felt that her situation was believable and her emotions were real. Gosh, I’d be flipping out too if I was pretty much taking care of myself and having to hide a secret. Alice is 16, but to be honest I don’t think she acts like one. Yes, not all teens act the same, but I think to some extent they do. Still, her character is likeable and simple to understand.

The plot is definitely unique. Haha, I find it funny since it’s almost Valentine’s Day and I’m reviewing a book on cupid. Errol isn’t how I picture Cupid. He annoyed me at first, but I do have to say I really enjoyed him. Unlike a ton of other YA books this male character wasn’t that swoon worthy (well, in my opinion). I’m really not sure how to explain him, but I can say I really did find his story intriguing and tragic.

The events in this novel take place at a pretty even pace. Before I read this book, some reviewers said that the beginning was a little slow. I didn’t think so. A book is good when it gets to the point but going too soon can kill that. Each event happened as a result of something and it felt like it truly was the character’s story. At a point I tried to predict what would happen, but for most of it I was truly stumped to how it would end. And oh man, the ending! I really loved the ending.

Honestly, I liked this book more than Coffeehouse Angel. I just find the plot more interesting. But I’m still giving it the same number of stars for a few reasons. One of the reasons was because there were a few ends not tied up. You never find out what happens between Mrs. Bobot and the Reverend. I also don’t think we get to learn enough about Errol.

But this book made me laugh. A lot. The things the characters came out with really had me giggling. Selfors has an innocent writing style that I recognize easily. Her words flow into a story that really had me captivated. I love Mad Love. If you are looking for a sweet story with a twist, definitely check this book out!

Rating: 4 / 5

5 thoughts on “Review: Mad Love by Suzanne Selfors

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Review: Mad Love by Suzanne Selfors « Lostinbelieving's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

