Lunar New Year Giveaway!

So guess what February 3 is?! The Lunar New Year!

Well, I call it Chinese new year, but many other Asians also celebrate the lunar new year so it wouldn’t be fair just to call it Chinese new year! I’m Chinese and my family celebrates it every single year with my aunts, uncles, cousins, etc. But this year I’m staying home to go to one of my best friend’s Sweet 16. I’m upset, but it’s worth it.

Every new year, the adults give the children red and gold envelopes with money inside of them. It is supposed to bring luck and good fortune to them for the year. I’m not an adult, but I’m giving away one red envelope filled with book swag! Actually, I’m only giving away stickers and tattoos relating to young adult books. Book swag is fun, but I have always loved the stickers and tattoos. Bookmarks can get boring 😛 Not only that, but I added Chinese candy (it’s a hard candy, like a lollipop).

So here’s the nice little red envelope filled with swag:

When I’m given an envelope, I have no idea what is inside. It is also rude to open it in the presence of the person who gave it to you, so that is why I didn’t show you exactly what tattoos and stickers were inside. But, if you want to see which ones are in the envelope, click here (I think it would be more fun to be surprised though).

Wanna win!? I hope you do cause I’m pretty sure not many others are giving away something for the Lunar New Year!

To Enter:

Comment below with a book that you have read that is Asian-inspired or has Asian characters in it! Or if you haven’t, comment with your favorite Asian food 🙂

Extra Entries:

There are none. But I would really appreciate it if you would become a blog subscriber or spread the word.

Sorry, but this contest is US only. Please check my contest policy here. The winner will be chosen using random.org. This giveaway ends on January 24th at 11:59 EST so I can get the prize mailed to the winner as close to Feb. 3 as possible.

GUNG HAY FAT CHOI! ^_^
(The new year is the year of the rabbit if you were wondering)

 

9 thoughts on “Lunar New Year Giveaway!

  1. This very interesting and I had no idea about the little red envelope tradition. You learn something new everyday.

    While I can’t remember a book with an theme to it that I have read recently, I do love Chinese food. I think my favorite is probably Sweet and Sour Pork. Man, that stuff is good.

    I’m an email subscriber.

    miztik_rose@yahoo.com

  2. Thanks for sharing this cool Lunar New Year Tradition. The best book I have read with an Asian theme would be a toss up between The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan and Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See. I loved both.
    I’m an email subscriber.
    rickimc[at]aol[dot]com

  3. This sounds like a fun tradition and I am in….we all could use some sweet little surprises in our lives. I gave for my Secret Santa book exchange this year a Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon Hale. A fairy tale with an Asian twist. She loved it!
    Happy Lunar New Year!
    veltara(at)yahoo(dot)com
    I am an e mail subscriber.

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Lunar New Year Giveaway! « Lostinbelieving's Blog -- Topsy.com

  5. Hiiiiii alison!!!!!! Uhmmm i never read an asian book but i had asian food from mom!! I like lomain, fried rice, fish (salmon), and spagehtti oh and i am not an email subscriber cause i dont have one but i hope i will so you wont have to mail it out!! Ooookkkk biiiiii!
    ~melissa (a.k.a ur sissy) ^.^ :D.
    (>’o’)>. <('.'<) hugg!!

  6. Hm… I love Clockwork Angel (Jem is from Shanghai) and in the Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices, Magnus is Asian.

    megankyser at gmail dot com

    cool giveaway idea, BTW!!!

  7. Pingback: Penny For Your Thoughts? « Lostinbelieving's Blog

  8. Heehee! 新年快乐!Yay for Chinese New Year. ❤ I've read Huntress, which is kind of Asian. I also want to read Daughter of Xanadu. Can't think of anything else. I don't have a favorite Chinese food. I LOVE THEM ALL. Dumplings… noodles… green onion pancake… bao zi… zong zi… I'm hungry.

Leave a Reply

