Review: Sea by Heidi R. Kling

Summary:

Still haunted by nightmares of her mother’s death, fifteen-year-old Sienna Jones reluctantly travels to Indonesia with her father’s relief team to help tsunami orphans with their post traumatic stress disorder—something Sienna knows a lot about. Since her mother’s plane went missing over the Indian Ocean three years before, Sienna doesn’t do anything if it involves the ocean or planes, so this trip is a big step forward.

But the last thing she expects is to fall for Deni, a brooding Indonesian boy who lives at the orphanage, and just so happens to be HOT. When Deni hears a rumor that his father may be alive, Sienna doesn’t think twice about running away with him to the epicenter of the disaster. Unfortunately, what they find there could break both their hearts.

When I stand on the beach and stare out into the ocean, I feel calm and exhilarated all at once. The ocean is powerful, yet balanced. So many things happen at once but still you manage to feel a thrill no matter how peaceful or dangerous the water is. Sea is exactly like that.

I went into this novel really excited. Finally, a book about a girl my age helping those less fortunate than her. I love dedicating my time helping those who need it. Reading this book, it actually kind of scared me to realize how alike Sienna and I are. Sienna keeps her fears and nightmares of her mother’s disappearance bottled up. By going on this trip, she ends up helping her PTSD while helping kids with the same disorder. She is unsure about things but cares deeply for the children she meets. Sienna also makes rash decisions and talks back without trying to be rude; exactly how most teenagers are. I felt like I could connect with Sienna and feel the emotions she was feeling.

Heidi Kling also does a great job at sticking to the cultures of the country. Having the characters speak in the language of the people and noting their call of worship was a nice step into a different life. I could picture myself next to Sienna and Deni experiencing each day as if I was actually there. It actually felt like the story was being told from a teen’s POV.

This book is full of emotion, hope, love and life that all of the things come together to create a kaleidoscope of colors that match the colors of the sea. The ending is different than I thought it would be, but the ripples of her time in Indonesia create a whole new wave continuing her life. I didn’t want the story to end, even though I knew there were no more words. A phenomenal debut !

Rating: 4.2 / 5

4 thoughts on “Review: Sea by Heidi R. Kling

Leave a Reply

