Changing Covers

Look around in the bookstore for a little bit. Wait. I’ve heard of that book before. But-but when does that book have that cover?! When did it come out in paperback?! Oooh I kinda like the new look! Ugh, I’m not too fond of this cover; what happened to the old one?! Where have I been?!

Sound familiar?! Well, I know that was me and my friend last year before I even got into book blogging. My friend doesn’t blog, but she has me to tell her all of the new books and cover changes and author news. Honestly, I never knew how much I was missing out before entering the blogosphere. I am so glad I did! Gosh, even following blogs gives you all the information on upcoming stuff!

Recently, I’ve noticed that there have been a lot of cover changes for books that come out in paperback. Usually covers change to increase sales of the book. We all say that we don’t judge a book by its cover, but c’mon, we all do it. But when the cover changes, I don’t always fall in love with the new one.

Let’s see some, shall we?

Hardcover => Paperback
(
First cover shown is original, second is new)

The Hollow by Jessica Verday

My friend Lindsay actually bought the book in hardcover while we were in Borders browsing. She said the girl on the cover caught her eye and that was the thing that made her pick up the book. I actually don’t like the hardcover cover as much as the paperback one. Yes, the girl is intriguing but I really like the lone necklace.

Silver Phoenix by Cindy Pon

 

The whole minority thing aside, I really don’t like the paperback cover. The book has not yet come out in paperback, so you won’t be seeing this one on the shelves until next year. Seriously though, I’m not a fan. The original cover is bright and bursting with colors while the second one is dark, following the whole black = twilight-like book theme. The green necklace looks really out of place on the second cover.

The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey

I haven’t read this one, but the summary definitely sounds interesting. The first cover pops out to me more. Honestly, I have no idea what that thing is in the water and if it was some kind of creature I’m sure it would creep me out. The background for the first cover shows that they’re in a lab since there are beakers and things. The paperback cover is cool with the silhouettes of tombstones, but it looks kind-of cartoonish to me.

Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

 

Looking at both covers side by side, I actually don’t have a preference. Both of them follow the same theme with two girls that look the same, except one is of statues and the other is of real girls. Both covers are cool and give off a mysterious aura. I’m sure I would pick up this novel with either cover.

So tell me, which covers here to do you prefer? Any other books that has changed covers? Also, what do you think about cover changing?

Honestly, I think changing a cover is a nice change but sometimes it can hurt more than help.

4 thoughts on “Changing Covers

  1. HEYYY! for The Hollow, I kinda like the second one, too, but idk what it’s about, so I don’t know how it fits into the story.
    For Silver Pheonix, I actually like the second one! Maybe just because I like darker colors, but the first one looks a little too happy and maybe… a little elementary?
    The Munstrumologist- I absolutely love the first cover! it’s totally different, and does really catch your eye, especially with the mystery of what the thing in the jar is and the way it catches the light. the second cover is a bit cliche, reminding me of what a good cover for Frankenstein would resemble. I’m totally gonna read that now.
    the Prophecy of the sisters- I love both covers! I’d have to read it to decide which was better, but the first reminds me of a time period I enjoy reading about, and the second is so nice to look at.

Leave a Reply

