Age Appropriate Books (Literally)

I don’t know if any of you know this already, but I’m 15 and a sophomore in high school. Most young adult books have characters that are 16 or older. This year, I finally entered the grade where young adult books are starting to take place in. Seriously, if you really think about it, all the books that take place in freshman year are middle grade. And this is how I got my idea for this post.

Although I love reading about older characters, it’s nice to read about someone the exact age as I am or at least in the same grade. It’s easier to picture and put myself in their situation. Here are a few books that have main characters that are 15 years old/take place in sophomore year:

Gone by Michael Grant
(A few of the characters turn 16 at the end)

Sea by Heidi Kling

Heist Society by Ally Carter

Fairytale by Cyn Balog
(Well, the characters turn 16 at the end)

I have not had a chance to read Sea yet, but I really do think you should all check out these books! If you are my age, you’ll love that you are finally old enough to be as old as young adult book characters are!

Haha many of you question why it’s such a big deal, but to me (and many others I know) it is. Even though the books I read are fiction, it’s nice to be able to picture yourself in a protagonist’s shoes. When the character is older, it’s harder to imagine because you have not reached that age or know what that year in school feels like. I hope you guys understand xD

 

4 thoughts on “Age Appropriate Books (Literally)

  1. I totally understand what you’re talking about! I love it when the characters in books are the same age as me. It makes them so much more relatable! Another good series that has characters that are 15/16 is The Gallagher Girls series. 🙂

Leave a Reply

