What if they all died?!

You’re all probably looking at the title, thinking that I am indeed insane. You might think of it as a trick of the light, but I promise you that is not the case. The question is really there. What if they all died? And I’m not even joking.

In 99.99% of books that I have read, the protagonist NEVER dies. Not trying to be all like “Oh yeah, let’s kill them off!” but think about it ! No matter how bad the situation gets for the character, you always have that feeling in the back of your head that they aren’t actually going to die. It’s because said character NEEDS to have that happy ending, or the book will not be good.

I disagree. As much as I want that happy ending, I don’t think I would ever be disappointed in a book if the main character died. Having that person die is a touch of reality and makes things end in a bitter-sweet way. They gave their life up for a ‘greater cause’ or something like that. To me, I think it would make the story even better.

Sooo…

What if they all died?

  • The plot of the novel would obviously written differently, making the story different in some way, shape or form.
  • Books would be closer to real life! We all know we like living in fantasy land, but it’s nice to be able to relate to the fantasy world.
  • It would leave all of the readers wondering what would have happened if they had actually lived. Which means the novel would be making us think long after the final page has been turned.
  • Gives the chance for some of the lesser characters to make it into the spotlight. C’mon! Everyone has a story to tell!
  • Tells us the author is that much braver to actually kill off the character they worked so hard on. After all, we’ve learned not to fall into peer pressure…
  • Makes the character that much more awesome because they truly are a hero (well, depends on the circumstances).

You might be nodding your head in agreement or cursing me off for even thinking this. That’s okay 🙂 I mean, really though ! Happily-Ever-After blah blah blah. We need some EXCITEMENT ! And if these books were to happen in real life (not saying they don’t ;D), do you honestly think all of the characters would survive?!

Yeah, I didn’t think so.

So tell me what you think ! Leave a comment, please !

One thought on “What if they all died?!

Leave a Reply

