Summer Reading Assignment

Summer is coming to a close. Today is my last day of summer vacation and tomorrow I have to go back to this building known as school :/ I really don’t want to go, but who does? I’ve had a great summer and I can’t wait for next year! This weekend I’ll probably put out a post on my summer, but right now I’m focusing on my school work.

My summer reading assignment was to read a choice book (age appropriate of course). I had to choose a passage from the book and describe what it means to me. My choice book is The Last Song  by Nicholas Sparks. Wanna read my blog post for it?! Haha well I’m posting it anyways!

Life, he realized, was much like a song.             
In the beginning there is mystery, in the end there is confirmation, but it’s in the middle where all the emotion resides to make the whole thing worthwhile
” (Sparks 391).

Sparks, Nicholas. The Last Song. New York: Hachette Book Group, 2010.

The Last Song was not my original choice for my summer reading. But because the assignment is  to connect my life to a selected passage in a book, the puzzle clicked in my head. I had read this book already and my outlook on life was changed from the very way the book told its story. I chose the passage above not only because I think it is a meaningful passage, but because music lovers can relate to it as much as I can.

The Last Song is about a girl named Ronnie Miller who is shipped off to live with her father for the summer. Ever since her parents got divorced, she’s been hard on her dad. The book is mainly about finding life, love and yourself with twists and turns along the way. The readers are brought into Ronnie’s life. Throughout the book we see her face hardships, fall in love, and discover things that make her regret her past behavior. The characters that Sparks creates are easy to relate to and are as realistic as you can get. The quote fits perfectly into the story because it holds true to the plot. The beginning of the summer for Ronnie and her father holds mystery waiting to unfold. It is difficult for Ronnie to communicate with her father and to fit in with the people in the town around her. By the end of the book, everything comes together to make peace in the plot and with the characters. But really, it’s the middle where everything is exciting. The verses and the chorus of life are where the stories are told and where the accidents, feelings and knowledge take place. The passage fits into the life of Ronnie Miller perfectly. Can I say the same thing about myself? Not exactly as Ronnie’s life, but it’s pretty darn close.

 Thankfully, I’m not at the end of my own life’s song. But I’m definitely not at the beginning either…At least I don’t think so. Right now, I’m in that weird middle stage where everything is slowly coming together. This is the stage where I am still learning and experiencing the world around me. I have my up and downs. I laugh, cry, hate and love. This passage really tugs at my heart and makes me rethink the life I live. Reading this book makes me believe in ‘living like there is no tomorrow.’ It’s hard to do that, and honestly, I haven’t tried following the statement as well as I should but it comes up in my mind often.

The quote also relates to music, and I can’t live without music. When I read this passage, I think of a song by an artist I love that tells a story. One of the songs that I think of is ‘Change’ by Taylor Swift. It tells a story of a group of people trying to overcome a challenge. It’s told through the point of view of someone who believes in everything they all do, even through all the hardships that occur. I love this song because it gives the beginning, middle and end of their battle. In the beginning, they keep falling down. The chorus talks about their hope and how they believe in change. In the end they are able to break through and succeed. This song has a story and meaning, which is why I can relate it to my assignment.  Nothing stands still; I believe that everything in my life will end up balancing out in time, just like the songs I listen to.

In the end, the words I chose from The Last Song are just text on a page.  But those words have changed the lives of my friends and me who have read the book. I am  strengthened by the wonderful, heartwarming story by Nicholas Sparks that will make you think long after the last page is turned. When thirty or so simple words reach out to you, you know that they are important. They make me think of all the amazing things that have happened to me and make me believe that everything will be affirmed in the end. Because after all, life is a song that just needs to be sung…and only you are able to find the voice to sing your own song.

Leave a Reply

