Review: Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard

Review: Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard

Summary:
Everyone has something to hide—especially high school juniors Spencer, Aria, Emily, and Hanna. Spencer covets her sister’s boyfriend. Aria’s fantasizing about her English teacher. Emily’s crushing on the new girl at school. And Hanna uses some ugly tricks to stay beautiful. But they’ve all kept an even bigger secret since their friend Alison vanished.

How do I know? Because I know everything about the bad girls they were and the naughty girls they are now. And guess what? I’m telling.

I first heard of this book when the TV show started getting a lot of hype. The plot sounded interesting, but I never actually got the chance to read it. Then one day my two friends ganged up on me and told me to read this book. And so I did.

The beginning of the book was very interesting. All the girls were different, but to me they all seemed the same. They all had this relationship that was still there even when the four girls broke apart after Alison’s disappearance. Reading the first chapter, you really do want to know what happens. But then things start to spiral out of control for the girls. The story ends at complete cliff hanger, making the reader desperate for the next book.

The four girls are Aria, Hanna, Spencer and Emily. They all had completely different lives, but some of them kinda seemed too cliché. Aria had a thing with her new teacher. Spencer is hitting on her sister’s boyfriend. Hanna loses weight in an ugly way. Emily doesn’t know whether she’s into guys or girls. Honestly, I think that secrets of Aria, Spencer and Hanna are kinda overused. I’ve heard of plenty of stories of scandals and girls who are bulimic. But I guess at the same time, this is what makes the story real.

The plot is actually really intriguing. If I were put into any of the girls’ situation, also adding the fact that their missing/most-likely-dead old best friend was haunting me with my own secrets, I would freak. I didn’t like the girls’ personalities but I’m pretty sure if they were being their true selves, they would be very likable characters.

Overall, the book was a super easy read. I couldn’t put the book down because I truly wanted to know what happened. But I didn’t get sucked into it as much as I had hoped. If you’re into high school drama and mystery, I encourage you to read it!

Rating: 3.5 / 5 Hearts

Leave a Reply

