Romance: Cool, Iffy or Completely Creeped Out?

Romance in Books

In most books today, there is always romance between the characters. Whether it’s the main or the chorus characters, there is at least hints of romance. I personally, don’t enjoy a story as much if it lacks the characters crushing on or falling in love with eachother.

Recently, young adult (and all other books) have added same-sex couples and even romances between siblings. It’s because people now-a-days are more tolerant of being different. To me, expressing yourself is who you are and no one can change that. I can honestly tell you that most of the current generation won’t treat you differently if you’re a homosexual. Yeah, there will always be people who are against it, but the world isn’t perfect. Because it’s becoming more common in our world today, books are starting to catch on.

Here is my question to all of you:

How do you feel about same-sex and incest romances in books?

I have nothing against reading a book that has two guys or two girls that fall in love. I actually am interested in Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan. It’s about two boys named Will Grayson and one of them is straight while the other one is gay. The story plot sounds really interesting. So if I ever get my hands on that book, I’ll let you know how it is!

There is this book going around called Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma. I’ve seen reviews for this book a few times with reviews here and there. At first I thought the cover looked cool but then I read the summary. It’s about two siblings, a guy and girl, who are starting to have deeper feelings for each other. I don’t think I would ever read this book. I get kinda creeped when thinking about falling in love with a brother or sister…

I always here people say “You can’t help who you fall in love with.” I think it’s true to, but when it comes to certain relationships, I guess I don’t believe in it. So tell me, what are your opinions on this matter?

4 thoughts on “Romance: Cool, Iffy or Completely Creeped Out?

  1. Ok so I’ll let you know my opinion. I have a gay sibling and I really don’t agree with it at all. I know in the Bible about homosexuals and also about shellfish and wearing like a mixed fabric such as cotton and polyester and stuff but let’s think about this. Does eating shellfish or wearing mixed fabric cause AIDS? HIV? It’s really a wonder to me..how can you be supportive of something that causes such harm (not you personally but the general public)? My brother knows where I stand but it’s sort of unspoken because we know that if we talk about it we may be the point of severing our bond with each other. It’s that destructive. Honestly I don’t think your “born” with it but how the Media today makes it seem so lax about it. Don’t get me wrong I actually have a gay friend but again it goes unspoken because it would destroy our relationship and I wouldn’t want that. You can call me a bigot, hater, close minded or whatever the heck you want but at the end of the day I’m still gonna be like me. No one will change my mind. But I would like to touch on the subject of gay Marriage. I don’t want it, I feel Marriage is sacred and honestly it should be between a man and a woman. That being said it doesn’t mean that I HATE and want to DESTROY gay people. As long as you don’t push it in my face to accept it we are all good. That’s the problem because people like who hold riots and parades are pushing it in my face saying I have to accept something that I don’t believe in. Now onto Incest. That’s disgusting, I don’t understand that. You do know inbreeding will in the end destroy humanity because you are sharing chromosome’s and such. Charles Darwin is an example. His children had died off early not because of colds but because they were inbred. If you Google it there will be proof, I promise you. To me it’s just not right and with books coming out on these two topics; well I can’t say I support it. Now I’m done with my big speech or whatnot but this is my opinion and I won’t change for anyone. 🙂

    • I agree with you. All the way. I’m against same-sex marriage, but I’m not going to openly tell someone that they can’t get married or whatever. And incest…. Well, that’s just wrong! (Unless they’re step-siblings or adopted)

  2. Neither issue really bothers me that much. No matter how I feel about it personally, I like to read books that challenge how I feel about things.

    Flowers in the Attic was is another “mainstream” book that has a side issue of incest.

  3. I guess I’m a “it’s the person, not the gender” when it comes to same-sex relationships; I’ve always been straight but if I had a crush on a girl I don’t particularly think I’d mind. And honestly, as long as you don’t hit on me or propose to me, you can like and marry whoever you please and it won’t bother me.

    Incest, on the other hand, is different to me. I don’t approve, and I don’t want to read about it. It’s not romantic, just weird, and I think even if you’ve got some kind of inter-family crush, you shouldn’t go pursuing it and having a relationship. No thanks.

    So I’m fine with “gay” books, but I really don’t like incest books. That’s my take on the issue.

Leave a Reply

