Review: The Clearing by Heather Davis

Review: The Clearing by Heather Davis

Summary (from B&N): Amy is drawn to the misty, mysterious clearing behind her Aunt Mae’s place because it looks like the perfect place to hide from life. A place to block out the pain of her last relationship, to avoid the kids in her new town, to stop dwelling on what her future holds after high school.

Then, she meets a boy lurking in the mist—Henry. Henry is different from any other guy Amy has ever known. And after several meetings in the clearing, she’s starting to fall for him.

But Amy is stunned when she finds out just how different Henry really is. Because on his side of the clearing, it’s still 1944. By some miracle, Henry and his family are stuck in the past, staving off the tragedy that will strike them in the future. Amy’s crossing over to Henry’s side brings him more happiness than he’s ever known—but her presence also threatens to destroy his safe existence.

I was lucky enough to win this book from the author herself! The summary sounded really intriguing, but I had no idea what to expect…

Amy is a girl who has been abused by her ex-boyfriend so she stays to herself. But even though she seems weak, there is this strength inside of her itching to be free. Amy has matured quickly and she can take care of herself. At first I thought that she was a kinda boring character, but I understood why. As the story progresses, the reader can see the person she used to be and the person she is on the inside. One of the things I really liked about her is the way she cares for the ones she loves.

Henry is old fashioned and a complete gentleman, but that’s because he is stuck in the 1940’s. Henry is so sweet, caring, and innocent, it’s insane. I fell for him faster than Amy did! Even though he’s stuck in his era, I think of him as that perfect boyfriend. He is selfless, hardworking and affectionate; what’s not to like?

I loved, loved, loved the plot. Never once have I read anything else like this. It also got me thinking about love and all that. Is it possible that the person that you are meant to be with could live before or after you? Think about it. They would never meet, but their significant other had/would be out there. This book made me start believing this idea…

The switching of POV’s in every other chapter was also very cool. The story switched between Amy and Henry, and it gave me an insight of how both characters were thinking and acting. Everything about this book is phenomenal.

What really got me was the end. It made me cry tears of joy while crying tears of happiness. I cannot say I didn’t predict the ending, but I cannot say I did. The last chapter is so touching that I’m pretty sure it changed me. It made me believe even more in the idea of living each day as it’s given to you. No matter who you are, this story will find a place in your heart. A definite read!

Rating: 5 / 5

Leave a Reply

