Review & Small Giveaway: Princess For Hire by Lindsey Leavitt

Review: Princess for Hire by Lindsey Leavitt

Summary (from B&N): For Desi Bascomb, who’s been longing for a bit of glamour in her Idaho life, the choice is a definite C–that is, once she can stop pinching herself. As her new agent Meredith explains, Desi has a rare magical ability: when she applies the ancient Egyptian formula “Royal Rouge,” she can transform temporarily into the exact lookalike of any princess who needs her subbing services. Dream come true, right?

Well, Desi soon discovers that subbing involves a lot more than wearing a tiara and waving at cameras. Like, what do you do when a bullying older sister puts you on a heinous crash diet? Or when the tribal villagers gather to watch you perform a ceremonial dance you don’t know? Or when a princess’s conflicted sweetheart shows up to break things off–and you know she would want you to change his mind?

People say not to judge a book by its cover, but I do. I know, that’s a bad thing to do but I can’t help it. I actually love Princess to Hire’s cover (even though my friends wouldn’t believe me).  It’s really pretty. And it fits the story.

Desi is a believable character. She got into a disagreement with her old best friend and now they’re enemies. Oh yeah, and she makes her own shirts. That’s actually pretty interesting. Her personality strengthens throughout the book as she begins to take the place of princesses. She develops at a rate that makes her a realistic character and her personality makes her likeable 🙂 Although she probably wouldn’t be my best friend, I would definitely be school friends with her! The plot of this story is very original. I’ve heard of agencies where they help the princess go into hiding and stuff, but never actually  heard ofsomeone who takes her place! You would think it’s all fairytales and happy endings, but it’s not. The princesses that Desi takes the place for have far from the perfect lives’ everyone imagines. And every time she completed a mission, I wanted to know what would happen next in the princess’s life. Desi’s life isn’t easy, but she sees that royal life isn’t as amazing as it’s cracked up to be.

The message of this book is to make an impact. It doesn’t mean to stop global warming; it means that the little choices in life can really change things. Desi wants to change things for the princesses even though she’s told not to. Impact. I think it’s a wonderful message because each of us can make an impact. And this book certainly had an impact on me!

This book is for people who like prince and princesses. It’s also for people who want to be royalty. But I recommend this boon to everyone who wants a great read with a great message!

Rating: 3.8 / 5 stars

ALSO: I’m doing a giveaway! Yay! Haha it’s not huge, but it’s something! Just comment on my review and I’ll choose one lucky commenter to recieve a signed Princess to Hire bookmark! US Only please. Sorry international people, but I have no idea how much that costs to ship oversees and I have no money 😛 I’ll choose someone and announce a winner on Saturday!

One thought on “Review & Small Giveaway: Princess For Hire by Lindsey Leavitt

Leave a Reply

