Review: the Maze Runner by James Dashner

Review: the Maze Runner by James Dashner

Summary (from B&N) : When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he’s not alone. When the lift’s doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade—a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls. Just like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they’ve closed tight. And every 30 days a new boy has been delivered in the lift. Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up—the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers. Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets buried within his mind.

My usual tastes in books are paranormal and fantasy romances. Not many people know this, but I can’t really read/get into a book without romance between characters. No matter how little romance there is, if it’s there, it will get me through. When I was younger, my first pick was science fiction. As I got older, that transitioned into the fantasy & paranormal stuff I read today. The Maze Runner made me remember why I loved sci-fi as much as I did.

Let’s talk about the characters. Thomas is smart, collected and overall a good person. There really isn’t any background info on him since his memories (and everyone’s around him) have been wiped. I wouldn’t call him a nerd, but he has the smarts to get out of sticky situations. I think he’s one of the few characters I have read that actually thought about every little detail before acting. Thinking outside of the box is the thing that sets him aside from the rest of the Gladers. There’s really no hint at whether Thomas is good-looking, but he isn’t your typical sexy protagonist.

Teresa is witty and courageous, which is pretty awesome. Because she is the only girl in the Grlade, she needs the personality she has to survive in a world of males. And I applaud her for it! Minho is a really strong person that shows it. The rest of the Gladers have personalities of their own, but the way they talk and act shows how they’re the same. I think that the characters in this book are really well developed.

Something else I liked was the language Dashner created. Yeah, all of the kids spoke English, but they made up their own talk using certain slang words. By doing that, I felt that it emphasized on how all of the Gladers had become their own community in the trap they were in. But it also showed how they were all the same.

The plot of this book is wonderfully crafted. Just imagine being rats in a maze! Yeah, I’m pretty sure you guys know what I’m talking about. The Maze Runner is a fast paced sci-fi novel that will keep you hanging on to know whether or not Thomas and his friend’s make it out of the maze. A wonderful story!

Rating: 4.5 / 5

6 thoughts on “Review: the Maze Runner by James Dashner

  1. I’m loving this review.
    I was feeling sort of apprehensive about reading this, since it’s normally not the sort of book I would go for; you’ve made up my mind for me!
    The protagonist sounds interesting and different.
    I’m definitely going to give it a shot!

  2. I really love books that have romance in them as well, even if it’s just a smidgen! I bought this book awhile ago and it’s just been sitting on my shelf. I really need to move it up in my TBR pile! Great review!

    (via CEP)

Leave a Reply

