Review: Wayfarer by R.J. Anderson

Review: Wayfarer by R.J. Anderson

Summary (from Goodreads): The faeries of the Oak are dying, and it’s up to a lone faery named Linden to find a way to restore their magic. Linden travels bravely into dangerous new territory, where she enlists the help of an unlikely friend—a human named Timothy. Soon they discover something much worse than the Oakenfolk’s loss of magic: a potent evil that threatens the fate of all faeries. In a fevered, desperate chase across the country, Timothy and Linden risk their lives to seek an ancient power before it’s too late to save everyone they love.

I started this book off not really knowing what it was about. Because I won this book (thanks Saundra Mitchell!) I didn’t bother to read the jacket summary over before I started it. I read it once, but my memory fades really easily…

At once though, I liked Timothy. Even though this is a book about faeries and magic, he seemed real to me. Don’t get me wrong, I love supernatural hot guys in books, but Timothy was different. He was human, but his thoughts and actions were down-to-earth. He wasn’t like the other protagonist guys that went into danger willingly or could fight like a ninja. If he was a real person, Timothy would be one of my classmates that learned, got into fights and questioned things. The main guy character was more of someone I would probably be friends with than a sexy guy I would die to date.

And Linden was well written too. Characters have flaws, and hers was relying on miracles. She was actually really optimistic and bubbly. And although that’s not what I’m used to, I actually really liked that personality on her. Although she is older than me, she seemed younger only because she hadn’t yet experienced the world around her.

The writing was simple to understand. The plot was well thought out, but I thought it was easily predictable. Personally, I didn’t get into this book as much as I had hoped but I’m still passing it along to my friends.

Rating: 3.8 / 5

Leave a Reply

