Review: The Dark Divine by Bree Dispain

Review: The Dark Divine by Bree Despain

Summary: Grace Divine’s world is flipped upside down when her used-to-be best friend, Daniel, shows up in her life for the first time in years. She doesn’t know why he left. All she knows is that her brother, Jude, hates that he’s back. Now she must figure out what’s going on between Daniel and Jude before it’s too late without even knowing what is coming.

  

I honestly thought that Daniel was a creep. For most of the book, he came to Grace at random moments and did things that would probably make me pee my pants if I was stuck with him. I didn’t really know what to think of him. But by the end though, he turned into the good guy that I hoped most of the main guy characters are. I understand why he was acting the way he was.

Grace had a pretty good personality too. Thinking and reacting the way you would if you were brought into unusual situations. If Grace was real, I would probably be friends with her. Maybe not amazing friends, but we would talk and stuff. You don’t meet many girls in books that are somewhat normal…Okay you do, but you get the idea.

My favorite character would probably be Don. I help out at my church a lot, so I’ve met people like him. Someone who has made bad decisions, but when they see the light of God they do a complete one-eighty. Don’s heart was filled with so much faith that it brought tears to my eyes.

Another positive thing is the plot. I have to admit it took a while to get to the point of the book, but I enjoyed it. The middle-end hit me the most, though. I honestly did not see the twist and turns coming and from there the book took me on one heck of a roller coaster ride. And I don’t even like roller coasters.

There are some negatives though. The only physical feature I read about Grace is that she has violet eyes. That’s really cool, but it doesn’t say her hair color or some other feature about her. I might have missed it, and I’m sorry if I did, but I wasn’t hit with it. The other negative was that the story took a while before it got to the point. But other than that, I thought it was good 😀

Rating: 3.8 / 5 Hearts

2 thoughts on “Review: The Dark Divine by Bree Dispain

Leave a Reply

