Review: The Triskaidek by Basil Sprig

Review: The Triskaidek by Basil Sprig

                Summary: On the thirteenth day of her thirteenth month on her thirteenth year, fourteen-year-old Alley uses magic to change her kite into a sunbird. From there, the bird gives her a mission but she doesn’t know what it is. Days before she is shipped off to go to a camp she doesn’t know of, a blue crab shows up at her door. And from there, she discovers that she’s a fairy and Camp Fae is the place where fairies learn how to use their magic. With her friend’s, she uncovers things and figures out how to complete her mission.

This book is for sale, but I’m pretty sure it’s self published. I got the book from the author himself because he was giving away thirteen copies because of the number relates to his book. So now my thoughts:

                I didn’t really know what to expect with this book. I’m fourteen, but Alley doesn’t seem like she’s my age. In more ways than one, she seems younger. It was hard thinking of her at my age. To me, she was too innocent and it didn’t seem that she was exposed to the world that much (even if it takes place at a fairy camp). Throughout the whole book, she kinda stays the same. I guess her character grows more to think and stuff, but it didn’t feel like there was that much character growth.

                But I did think the plot was good. The book kept me reading to know what happened, but it wasn’t like I stayed up really late to keep reading. I liked the plot, and it was nice how things came together in the end. Her friend’s were nice, but they confused me sometimes. Alley hung with a bunch of different people, which was awesome. And the first person she met at camp didn’t become her best friend which made me happy. This book had reality in it along with fiction, and that was cool. Things that are too perfect aren’t good.

                I don’t really know what to think of this book. It’s good, but to me it wasn’t amazing. It’s definitely a book that’s a nice read if you want something, but it’s not something I would read over and over again. To me, the characters didn’t have different voices. But then at the same time, the idea of thirteen is different. It had enough romance in it to keep me wondering if she was going to end up with someone, so that was also nice. Overall, I honestly have no idea where I would place this book. It has an equal amount of strengths and weakness…

Rating: 2.9 / 5 Hearts

9 thoughts on “Review: The Triskaidek by Basil Sprig

    • Haha I’m sorry, i’m not able to speak Chinese or read it. I never took the oppurtunity to learn and I regret it 😦 I guess I could start learning, but it would be harder since I’m a teen now

  1. hehe i am so happy to meet you here.don’t worry, you will know Chinese, and first you have to know Chinese is a very difficult language, you have to pay more patient. welcome to my blog! and give me a comment. thanks

Leave a Reply

