My Roomie Story (& Giveaway)

In honor of the release of the novel Roomies by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando, Little, Brown has asked us reviewers to post our own story of having a roommate. Not only that, but I’m including a giveaway for a copy of Roomies at the end of this post!

b5d1b-roomies

Here’s my Roomie story:

I’ve had to share a room with my younger sister, Melissa, my whole life. Some info about my sis: she’s two years younger than me and we look nothing alike. Other than that, our personalities are different and we listen to different kind of music.

When I was younger, I used to get very upset when my sister used my things. Since we shared a room, there was nowhere else for me to put my possessions, except in my room (which we shared). My sister knew I would get upset if she even touched my things, so she decided to wait when I was out with friends to use my things. I would come back to find my toys scattered around the room and my sister pretending she hadn’t touched anything.

As we got older, we stopped caring about using each other’s things. Instead, we focused on how little room we actually had. At first, we had bunk beds. Then we asked our dad to take the beds a part, but then that took up too much space. Finally, we went back to bunk beds. Not only that, but for a good three years, my sister and I would rearrange our room two times a year because we got bored of the layout. And each time, our mom would get mad because we shoved all of our items into the hallway when we moved things around. We even moved our bed and bookshelves around, even when our parents told us not to move the heavy stuff around. Our motto: if you want something done, do it yourself.

Looking back, it’s not bad sharing a room with my sister. There were the bad times, like when my mom told me to read in the hallway since my sister didn’t want the light in the room on. There were the good times, like I had someone else to feed and help clean the tanks of the goldfish and hermit crabs.

In the end, sharing a room has taught me a lot: to share, to cooperate and to learn to work together. This is my roomie story; even though I’m in college, it still hasn’t ended…

Alright, I wanna hear your roomie stories now! Tell me yours in the comments (:

Also, Sara & Tara are going on a tour for the release of their book! Here are the tour dates:

Also, thanks to Little, Brown, I’m giving away a copy of Roomies! This giveaway is U.S. only (no P.O. boxes!), and will end on January 13 at 11:59 EST. You will get an extra entry if you leave me a roomie story to read!

To enter, fill out the Google form here.

2 thoughts on “My Roomie Story (& Giveaway)

Leave a Reply

